Shudder Will Spin Their Original Scripted Short-Form Series 'Deadwax' In November

Literal killer vinyl strikes terror from the turntable in Shudder’s first original scripted short-form series, Deadwax, with all eight episodes premiering on the service Thursday, November 15th. Created and directed by filmmaker, acclaimed sound designer and electronic musician Graham Reznick (I Can See You, co-writer of the PlayStation hit Until Dawn), Deadwax chronicles the hunt for a rare recording believed to cause madness and death to anyone who dares listen.

"Etta (Hannah Gross, Mindhunter), an audiophile and rare vinyl record dealer, is hired to find the only existing print of a notorious record that kills whoever listens to it. At the time of its pressing, the engineer had a heart attack and the vinyl supposedly captured the sound of death itself. When Etta comes across Perry (Evan Gamble, Hap & Leonard), a police officer afflicted by the record, she discovers that hearing even a single note can cause insanity. In order to save Perry and survive the job, she must race to unravel the deadly record’s otherworldly origins."

The series also stars Chester Rushing ("Stranger Things"), Dohn Norwood ("Hell on Wheels"), Ted Raimi ("Ash vs. Evil Dead"), Yuki Sakamoto and Tracy Perez ("East Los High") and is executive produced by Peter Phok (The House of the Devil, Stake Land) and Reznick.

“With Deadwax, Graham Reznick has found the perfect story to combine his mastery of sound with a gripping, supernatural mystery reminiscent of The Ninth Gate or Cigarette Burns,” said Craig Engler, General Manager of Shudder, AMC Networks’ premium streaming service for thriller, suspense and horror. “Hannah Gross gives a standout performance as Etta, and horror fans will be delighted by Ted Raimi’s portrayal of Ian.”

Shudder has also announced a forthcoming Deadwax soundtrack release on Mondo / Death Waltz Recording Company, produced by Death Waltz founder Spencer Hickman. The double-LP limited release will feature both Reznick’s original score along with twelve exclusive tracks featured in the show from the electronic artists that helped inspire the unique sound of the series.

(Poster Credit: Eric Adrian Lee)


CryptTeaze Horror Logo

Copyright 2017-2020, All Rights Reserved.

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle