Second Season of 'Snowpiercer' Series Ordered, Now Premiering On TBS

Snowpiercer Series TBS Second Season

Back in early 2018, TNT ordered up a “Snowpiercer” TV series, a show based on Bong Joon Ho’s 2013 film of the same name, but behind the scenes issues and creative differences led to a few changes over the past year or so. So what's going on with the small screen adaptation? Well firstly, the series has now been moved from TNT over to TBS.

Additionally, Deadline also reports that WarnerMedia has ordered a second season of its post-apocalyptic sci-fi series prior to its series premiere in Spring 2020.

“Snowpiercer is the perfect show to kick-off TBS’ entry into dramas with intricate storytelling, stunning visuals and first-class acting,” said Brett Weitz, general manager for TBS and TNT. “We believe in the longevity of this series and that audiences will be amazed by the fantastical world that brings to life such relevant social, political and environmental issues.”

The series stars Jennifer Connelly (A Beautiful Mind) and Daveed Diggs (Hamilton), Alison Wright ("The Americans"), Mickey Sumner (Frances Ha), Susan Park (Ghostbusters), Iddo Goldberg ("Peaky Blinders"), Katie McGuinness (Dirty Filthy Love), Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), Annalise Basso (Bedtime Stories), Sam Otto (Jellyfish), Roberto Urbina ("Narcos"), Sheila Vand (Argo) and Jaylin Fletcher (Saturday Church). Rowan Blanchard ("Girl Meets World") has been elevated to series regular for season two.

In the series set seven years after the world has become a frozen wasteland, the series centers on the remnants of humanity, who inhabit a gigantic, perpetually-moving train that circles the globe. As it does, issues of class warfare, social injustice and the politics of survival are raised.

Writing on season two will begin this June with Graeme Manson ("Orphan Black") returning as executive producer and showrunner.

"Snowpiercer" is produced by Tomorrow Studios (a joint venture between Marty Adelstein and ITV Studios), along with CJ Entertainment, who produced the original film. The series is executive produced by Tomorrow Studios' Marty Adelstein (Cowboy Bebop", "Prison Break") and Becky Clements ("Good Behavior", "Aquarius"); showrunner Graeme Manson, who wrote the first episode; director James Hawes ("The Alienist", "Black Mirror"); Matthew O’Connor ("Continuum"); Scott Derrickson (Sinister, Doctor Strange), and the original film's producers Bong Joon Ho, Miky Lee, Tae-sung Jeong, Park Chan-wook, Lee Tae-hun and Dooho Choi.