"Eli Roth's History Of Horror" Has Been Renewed For A Second Season By AMC

Eli Roth History of Horror Renewed For Second Season

Last year, AMC's series "Eli Roth's History of Horror" dove deep into horror's various sub-genres with some of the genre's most beloved filmmakers, including Quentin Tarantino, Edgar Wright, Linda Blair, Joe Dante, Greg Nicotero, Rob Zombie, Stephen King, Jamie Lee Curtis and more. I tell you this because AMC announced today that it has renewed "Eli Roth’s History of Horror" for a second season of six episodes!

The second season, which will also appear on Shudder, will feature episodes devoted to monsters, evil children, witches, body horror, houses of hell and "Eli’s Terrifying Twelve."

"I’m so thrilled to be continuing this historic series with AMC. In season one, we had the most incredible conversations with the top creators in the field who really helped fans around the world appreciate the horror genre in a new light," Roth said. "From Quentin Tarantino to Jordan Peele to Stephen King and Jamie Lee Curtis, everyone shared stories about creating the fright masterpieces that still chill us to this day. What’s most exciting about this show is that the fans get to understand these films on a much deeper level, and many go back and rediscover older films they may not have seen for years or missed entirely. We look forward to going even deeper in season two, bringing out the A-listers to share their stories with everyone for all time and adding more and more films to the canon. AMC is the perfect network to partner with on a passion project like this and we can’t wait to get started."

Season One reached nearly 6 million viewers on AMC in Nielsen live+7 ratings, the episodes later appeared on Shudder, and extended cuts of the interviews in the show were released as a podcast, which became the #2 podcast in the TV & Film genre – a true original programming trifecta.

"Eli Roth’s History of Horror” is produced by The Content Group and Marwar Junction Productions. Executive producers are Roth, Kurt Sayenga, Steven Michaels, Jonathan Koch, Joseph Freed and Allison Berkley.