Lamb Of God Preview Upcoming Self-Titled Album With New Track "Checkmate"

Lamb of God, the forefathers of the New Wave of American Heavy Metal, have hyped up their next album, as last week, guitarist Mark Morton confirmed that the masters had been printed. This week, we were treated to a teaser via the handwritten lyrics to a new song, “Checkmate,” which were penned by Morton and singer D. Randall Blythe.

Early Thursday morning, the song was unleashed. It is the first recording since the addition of drummer Art Cruz, who replaced longtime drummer Chris Adler, following the latter’s jump to Megadeth in 2018. Kicking off with a bluesy-sounding lead by Mark Morton over a drop-tuned riff by co-axeman Willie Adler, the video sees live studio footage cut over images of pocket watches and heavy machinery, with occasional cutaways to a blindfolded Lady Justice.

The Richmond natives’ new disc, which they’ve announced will be self-titled, is due out on May 8th. The track listing has been released, as well as a special Valentine’s Day album announcement show in Chicago, with Harm’s Way opening, as well as a photography exhibit showcasing the work of D. Randall Blythe.

The tracks on the new disc are:

“Memento Mori”



“Reality Bath”

“New Colossal Hate”

“Resurrection Man”

“Poison Dream”


“Bloodshot Eyes”

“On the Hook”

Hatebreed vocalist Jamey Jasta will guest on “Poison Dream,” and Testament singer Chuck Billy will appear on “Routes.” The disc is produced by Josh Wilbur, who previously produced the band’s last three albums, Wrath, Resolution, and VII: Sturm und Drang.

Check out the music video for “Checkmate” below.