Crippled Black Phoenix Release Damning Music Video for "Lost"

In the midst of a global pandemic, racial injustice playing out on the national stage, and the flames of nationalism and capitalism being stoked on a daily basis, some would wonder if we are truly lost. So thinks Crippled Black Phoenix, and to illustrate such a point, they have partnered with Guilherme Enriques to put together a music video for their song “Lost,” a progressive rock track with fervor and fire just as much as it is one with fear and unease about the future.

Justin Greaves, the mastermind behind Crippled Black Phoenix, had this to say about the song:

“It is time to wake the fuck up. It is not about politics or religion or profit. It is about ethics, empathy, and integrity for social and global issues. We are all responsible.”

The video shows scenes of starving families in the streets, protests against police brutality turning into violent showdowns, and scenes of slaughterhouses and the unethical treatment of the animals they harvest. As the drums play on with a hopeful beat, singer/lyricist Belinda Kordic and guest vocalist Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) perform with all manner of emotion in their respective voices. They aren’t just griping, they are crying out for what mankind has become, and mourn those that have gone before us without warning or reason. The outro for the track repeats, over and over until the fade, “We are, we are, we are, we are lost.”

Says Kordic about the song:

“It is a mad, mad and sad world out there. And excuse my lack of optimism (or not)... it isn’t getting any better. It’s getting far worse. No other living creature on this broken planet exudes such destruction as us humans. The cruelty, lack of empathy and respect for not only each other, but all forms of life.”

The band’s new album Ellengæst is due out on October 9th via Season of Mist. The album’s track listing reads as follows:

1. House of Fools

2. Lost

3. In the Night

4. Cry of Love

5. Everything I Say

6. (-)

7. The Invisible Past

8. She’s In Parties

See the haunting and provocative video for “Lost” here:

Pre-orders for Ellengæst can be found through the Season of Mist shop.