Deftones Set To Release Remix Album 'Black Stallion' For 20th Anniversary of 'White Pony'

Photo Credit: James Minchin III

It’s like you never had wings…

Deftones released a downright stunning record in Ohms back in September, but just because the ongoing pandemic derailed their plans to tour with Gojira and Poppy this summer does not mean that the nu metal stalwarts are going quietly now.

This year marks twenty since their breakthrough album White Pony was released, with the game-changing single “Change (In the House of Flies)” setting a high bar for many alternative metal acts to reach for in subsequent eras. To commemorate their landmark work, the band is releasing a new companion album Black Stallion, featuring a murderer’s row of producers and artists who have breathed new life into White Pony.

Originally, the project was set to be completely overseen by the band and DJ Shadow, though it never came to pass in its original form. But with a cast including Linkin Park’s Mike Shinoda, longtime EBM producer Trevor Jackson, and Robert by-gods Smith of The Cure working their magic on each individual track, this is going to be a treat of a record.

The tracklisting for Black Stallion is as follows:

1. "Feiticeira" (Clams Casino remix)

2. "Digital Bath" (DJ Shadow remix)

3. "Elite" (Blanck Mass remix)

4. "Rx Queen" (Salva remix)

5. "Street Carp" (Phantogram remix)

6. "Teenager" (Robert Smith remix)

7. "Knife Prty" (Purity Ring remix)

8. "Korea" (Trevor Jackson remix)

9. "Passenger" (Mike Shinoda remix)

10. "Change" (In the House of Flies) (Tourist remix)

11. "Pink Maggit" (Squarepusher remix)

Pre-order the commemorative double album White Pony x Black Stallion, due out December 11th via Warner Bros. Records, here.

See the album trailer, as well as stream two remixes from Black Stallion, below: