Epica Unleash Sweeping Animated Video for "Freedom - The Wolves Within," 'Omega' Out in February

Dutch symphonic metal institution Epica have their sights set on February 26, 2021 for the release of their eighth album Omega, and have called their shot with two powerful singles. First was “Abyss of Time,” with its beauty and the beast technique executed over a symphonic power metal soundscape, typical of the band’s signature sound. Now, in our second glimpse of Omega, we get another heavy and heavenly track to tide us over.

The new song, “Freedom - The Wolves Within,” feels like a massive song, between the trade-off in vocals between Simone Simons and Mark Jansen, as well as the choir singing their ominous verses, imploring the listener to “choose between hungry wolves.” The orchestration doubles the guitar lines, Simone’s voice soars, and Mark’s voice bellows and howls. Again, the song feels like a big deal from the first notes, though coming from a band that wrote an entire album dedicated to Attack on Titan, that can only be so surprising, I suppose.

As for the music video, directed by Bram Knol, the story is given by Mark Jansen:

"This song is based on an old story of a fight between two wolves. A wise Cherokee is discussing life with his grandson: He tells the boy, 'There is a fight going on inside of me between two wolves.' One wolf is evil, he embodies anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority and ego. The other wolf is good, joyful, peaceful, and embodies love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith. We all have the same fight going on inside of us and the outcome of this battle will reflect on the outer world. The boy gets curious and asks his grandfather which wolf will win? The old Cherokee simply answers, 'The one you feed the most.' What we want to be and what we want to reflect on the world around us depends on which wolf we feed and also the degree of control we have over our inner wolves. Will we manage to control them or will they control us?"

Regardless which wolf you feed more, the track listing for the upcoming Omega reads as follows:

1. Alpha - Anteludium

2. Abyss Of Time - Countdown To Singularity

3. The Skeleton Key

4. Seal of Solomon

5. Gaia

6. Code Of Life

7. Freedom - The Wolves Within

8. Kingdom Of Heaven, Part 3 - The Antediluvian Universe

9. Rivers

10. Synergize - Manic Manifest

11. Twilight Reverie - The Hypnagogic State

12. Omega - Sovereign Of The Sun Spheres

Omega releases through Nuclear Blast Records on February 26th, 2021. Pre-order it here, and see the intense video for “Freedom - The Wolves Within” below:


CryptTeaze Horror Logo

Copyright 2017-2020 crypt-teaze.com, All Rights Reserved.

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle