Post-Rockers SOM Sign to Pelagic Records, Will Release New EP 'Awake' In March 2021

Delightfully heavy yet irresistibly dreamy, the music of post-rock outfit SOM is something to behold. Recently, the band, composed of members of Constants, Junius, and Grammy nominees Caspian, signed to Pelagic Records, and are hitting the ground running with their new label. Their newest EP Awake is due for release next month, and ahead of that date, SOM have greeted us with a new track, “Awake // Sedate.”

Described by the band themselves as “heavy dream pop,” the song feels somewhere between newer Deftones and A Perfect Circle, with a bit more of a low-end focus. They use the quiet verse, loud chorus technique to great effect, making for a smooth listen that’s easy to lose oneself in. It rides the line between radio-ready hard rock and obscure shoegaze better than most, and feels like more than just a low man’s Deftones.

Drummer and founding member Duncan Rich explains the band’s separate projects as being “very exploratory,” before going on to state:

"With SOM, it's a lot more focused. Creating in a pandemic has imposed limits - it's a

test of working within boundaries. How do we make something expansive, yet

digestible and impactful?" The tracks are part of SOM's ongoing mission to "leave this place better than we found it."

Awake will be released digitally and on cassette via Blood Blast Distribution (a subsidiary of Nuclear Blast Records) on March 5th, with the CD and vinyl release coming via Pelagic Records one week later on March 12th. Digital and cassette pre-orders can be found here, while CD and vinyl pre-orders can be found here.

Check out the music video for “Awake // Sedate” below: