'The Last Of Us Part II,' 'Hades' Among Big Winners At BAFTA Games Awards

Last week saw the 2021 edition of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Games Awards, honoring the best of video gaming and interactive entertainment. This year’s awards were the 17th installment, with the first awards being given in 2004. As far as horror and horror-adjacent titles, go, the big winners by far were The Last of Us Part II, the wildly successful Naughty Dog zombie narrative, which won three awards, including EE Game of the Year, and Hades, the roguelike action RPG which takes players through Hades all the way to Mount Olympus, which won five awards in total.

The Last of Us Part II won awards for Animation and Performer in a Leading Role, with Laura Bailey’s role as Abby clinching the win for the latter. The game also won the EE Game of the Year award. The first installment in this series won Best Game in the 2014 awards, en route to five total that year.

Hades won Best Game, Artistic Achievement, Game Design, Narrative, and Best Performer in a Supporting Role. Logan Cunningham’s multiple roles earned the Supergiant title the Supporting Performer award.

Also of interest to horror fans is the winner for Debut Game, the “reverse-horror” Carrion. Players take control of a tentacled monster creeping its way through a facility, destroying anything in its way. While the reviews have been mostly favorable, this is the first formal award for the title, which was developed by Phobia Game Studios and published by Devolver Digital.

The full list of winners reads as follows:

  • Animation – The Last of Us Part II

  • Artistic Achievement – Hades

  • Audio Achievement – Ghost of Tsushima

  • Best Game – Hades

  • British Game – Sackboy: A Big Adventure

  • Debut Game – Carrion

  • EE Game of the Year – The Last of Us Part II

  • Evolving Game – Sea of Thieves

  • Family – Sackboy: A Big Adventure

  • Game Beyond Entertainment – Animal Crossing: New Horizons

  • Game Design – Hades

  • Multiplayer – Animal Crossing: New Horizons

  • Music – Spider-Man: Miles Morales

  • Narrative – Hades

  • Original Property – Kentucky Route Zero: TV Edition

  • Performer in a Leading Role – Laura Bailey as Abby in The Last of Us Part II

  • Performer in a Supporting Role – Logan Cunningham for multiple roles in Hades

  • Technical Achievement – Dreams

  • BAFTA Fellowship – Siobhan Reddy

Stream the full 2021 BAFTA Game Awards ceremony below:


CryptTeaze Horror Logo

Copyright 2017-2020 crypt-teaze.com, All Rights Reserved.

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle